Six Health Care Pioneers to be Inducted into Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

On Thursday, April 12th, six renowned medical pioneers will be recognized as 2018 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates at a special ceremony, including London’s own Dr. Vladimir Hachinski, a world-renowned neurologist who has changed survival odds for stroke sufferers everywhere.

“The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these six individuals as honoured members,” says Dr. Bryce Taylor, CMHF national board chair. “Their passion and visionary leadership has improved health in this country, with global impact. Each of these exceptional people has earned their place alongside the current 125 Laureates of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.”

The Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry is delighted to be a partner host for the 2018 Induction Ceremony in London, Ontario the home of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame,” says Dr. Michael Strong, Dean of Western University’s Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry. “We are pleased to honour these exemplary health care leaders for their extraordinary contributions to medicine and health sciences around the globe.”

WHO (Inductees)

Dr. Philip B. Berger, O.ONT MD CCFP FCFP FRCPC (Hon)

Dr. B. Brett Finlay, OC OBC PhD FRSC FCAHS

Dr. Vladimir Hachinski, CM MD FRCPC DSc FAAN FAHA FRSC

Dr. Balfour Mount, OC OQ MD FRCSC LLD

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, MDCM FRCPC FCCMG

The late Dr. Emily Stowe, MD


More than 500 local and national senior health, business and academic leaders will attend the 20th Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Hosted in partnership with the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University, with Presenting Sponsor, the Canadian Medical Association, and Medical Student Sponsor, MD Financial Management


April 12, 2018    5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

5:45 p.m.           Interview & Photo Opportunity with Inductees

6:30 p.m.           Inductee Processional

7:30 p.m.           Additional Interview & Photo Opportunity with Inductees

8:00 p.m.           Induction Ceremony begins (Room 2000 A | B)


London Convention Centre, 300 York Street

Available Media Resources:

2018 Laureate pages and tribute videos available at 8:00 p.m. (ET) April 12th at
Laureate portraits and detailed biographies available on request.

MEDIA CONTACT: Katrina Fortner, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, cell: 519.902.8209 /